You are here: Curriculum
Page Views: 46 Today ; 26135 Total

The ‘Skills Based Curriculum’ at West Hill Primary is a framework for broad and relevant experiences which ensure progression and continuity in children’s learning from Early Years to the end of Key Stage 2.

Teachers plan and teach together in year group teams.

Pre-School and EYFS curriculum

The EYFS is made up of seven areas of learning:

“There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years settings. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.” (p.7 Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage 2014)

The prime areas are:

•       Personal, Social and Emotional Development

•       Communication and Language

•       Physical Development

There are also four specific areas which the three prime areas are applied to.

•       English

•       Mathematics

•       Understanding the World

•       Expressive Arts and Design

These areas cannot be delivered in isolation from the others. All areas are delivered through a balance of adult led, adult guided and child initiated activities. Adults support learning and encourage independence. In each area there is Early Learning Goals (ELG) that defines the expectations for most children to reach by the end of the EYFS.

This expands throughout Key Stage 1 and 2 to include all the National Curriculum subjects:
•  English
•  Mathematics
•  Science
•  History
•  Geography
•  Design & Technology
•  Information, Communication Technology
•  Art
•  Music
•  Personal, Health and Social Education
•  Physical Education
•  Religious Education.
•  Modern Foreign Languages (Spanish)

The curriculum is taught through a mixture of topic or thematic work, and subject lessons. Greater integration of subjects occurs at the early years with more emphasis given to subject teaching as children progress through key stage 1 and Key Stage 2.